What is the least populated main island in Japan?

Shikoku is the smallest (225 km or 139.8 mi long and between 50 and 150 km or 31.1 and 93.2 mi wide) and least populous (3,815,000 as of 2015) of the four main islands of Japan, located south of Honshu and east of the island of Kyushu.

What are the 5 main islands of Japan?

Japan, which extends roughly 4000 km from northeast to southwest along the northeastern coast of the Eurasia mainland, comprises five main islands, Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, Kyushu, and Okinawa, with countless “rito” – remote (or small) islands.

What are the 4 smallest islands of Japan?

Along with Hokkaido, Honshu, and Kyushu, Shikoku is one of the four main islands that make up the Japanese archipelago. The smallest of those islands, it comprises the four prefectures Tokushima Prefecture, Kagawa Prefecture, Ehime Prefecture, and Kochi Prefecture.

What are the most populated islands in Japan?

Honshu (225,800 km2)[SEE MAP]

Honshu takes home the prize for the largest of Japan’s five major islands. It is also the most populated.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do Japanese people kiss at weddings?

Which is the smallest island country?

2. It’s the world’s smallest island nation. Measuring just eight square miles, Nauru is larger than just two other countries: the Vatican City and Monaco.

What is the second most populous island in Japan?

Honshu separates the North Pacific Ocean from the Sea of Japan. Honshu is the second most populous and seventh-biggest islands on the planet. Honshu is home to over 104 million people, and it occupies an area of about 88,020sq miles.

Is Iwo Jima an island?

Iwo Jima, official Japanese Iō-tō, also called Iō-jima, island that is part of the Volcano Islands archipelago, far southern Japan. The island has been widely known as Iwo Jima, its conventional name, since World War II (1939–45).

How many main islands does Japan have?

Overview. The territory of Japan comprises the four large islands of Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu, and other smaller islands.

Where are the four main island of Japan?

Nearly the entire land area is taken up by the country’s four main islands; from north to south these are Hokkaido (Hokkaidō), Honshu (Honshū), Shikoku, and Kyushu (Kyūshū).

How long is Japans main island?


Native name: 本州
Length 1,300 km (810 mi)
Width 50–230 km (31–143 mi)
Coastline 10,084 km (6265.9 mi)
Highest elevation 3,776 m (12388 ft)

What is the lower island of Japan called?

Okinawa Island – the smallest and southernmost of the main islands.

Is Hokkaido the main island of Japan?

Hokkaido, northernmost of the four main islands of Japan. It is bordered by the Sea of Japan (East Sea) to the west, the Sea of Okhotsk to the north, and the Pacific Ocean to the east and south. … Hokkaido province comprises about one-fifth of Japan’s total land area.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How old do you have to be to get a job in Japan?

Which island has least population?

Pitcairn Island is an island in the Pacific Ocean more than 3,000 miles away from any continent. It has a population of just 50 people.

What is the smallest island with a name?

Nauru is the world’s smallest island nation, covering just 21 square kilometres (8 sq mi), the smallest independent republic, and the only republican state in the world without an official capital.

Did the island of Nauru sink?

But Nauru is sinking, drying out, and generally in peril due to the ever-accelerating effects of climate change. … After the war, Australia took control of the country, and phosphate mining resumed as an Australian enterprise, before mining rights were transferred to Nauru when the nation became independent in 1968.